Award / CapDev / Scholarship

Call for applications for 2015 AWARD fellowships

African Women in Agricultural Research and Development (AWARD) is calling for applications for its 2015 fellowships.

AWARD is a career-development program that equips top women agricultural scientists across sub-Saharan Africa to accelerate agricultural gains by strengthening their research and leadership skills, through tailored fellowships. The program is a catalyst for innovations with high potential to contribute to the prosperity and well-being of African smallholder farmers, especially women. AWARD fellows benefit from two-year fellowships focused on fostering mentoring partnerships, building science skills, and developing leadership capacity. Fellows stay in their institutions, continue their research, and travel to AWARD training courses held in various locations in Africa.

Eligibility: Women agricultural scientists who are citizens of Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Liberia, Malawi, Mozambique, Nigeria, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda, or Zambia, who have completed a bachelor’s, master’s, or doctoral degree in one of the disciplines listed below, or other agriculture-related fields, are eligible to apply. Applicants must be resident in Africa throughout the two-year fellowship period.

Agricultural economics
Agricultural engineering
Animal and livestock sciences
Aquatic resources and fisheries
Biodiversity conservation
Crop science
Extension education
Food science and nutrition
Forestry and agroforestry
Molecular biology (plant/animal breeding)
Natural resources management
Plant/animal virology
Soil science
Veterinary sciences
Water and irrigation management

Fellowships are awarded on the basis of intellectual merit, leadership capacity, and the potential of the scientist’s research to improve the livelihoods of African smallholder farmers. This is the last round of fellowships offered by AWARD under its current grant funding.

Apply: For the electronic application form and more information, click here.
Deadline: August 8, 2014

Winners will be notified by December 31, 2014.

Successful candidates must be available to attend one of the three five-day AWARD mentoring orientation workshops in February/March 2015 in Kenya. Specific dates will be announced.

AWARD is supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, the United States Agency for International Development, and the Alliance for a Green Revolution in Africa. The program is a preferred service provider of CGIAR and is hosted by the World Agroforestry Centre.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s